AUTONOMOUS flight

Hi, I am new to flytos and planing to use it for autonomous flight without GPS as I ma using pymavlink for the same purpose. I was wondering if flytos can do the same or not?

Hi @sanchit.gupta, thanks for your interest in FlytOS.

@srv should be able to answer your query accurately.

Indoor positioning and navigation using vision SLAM

You can use FlytOS for autonomous flight. However the autopilot requires a position feedback (from one or more sources such as GPS, optical flow, vicon. etc.) to be controlled (navigation commands) remotely by using pymavlink or FlytOS.

So it’s your choice whether you want to use GPS or other sensor to provide position feedback to autopilot. FlytOS or pymavlink won’t be able to control the drone’s position if position lock is not available. Rather autopilot won’t switch to any position hold mode if position lock is not available.

If you have any sensor which can provide position feedback to autopilot then you are good to go. However for telemetry there’s no restriction of position lock.

Is GPS lock required for only takeoff & land api? For example, if I takeoff manually, setpoint command will work without position lock? (not necessary to be very stable, a little bit drift is acceptable)

As long as you have position lock via GPS, or optical flow or any other sensor, Position setpoint will work.

Thanks Dhiraj for your reply.
Right now I am not using any position lock so the UAV is drifting(obvious).

1. Could you please tell me how can I send command set mode to without GPS mode?

2. If I use image tracking (tracking a particular image) would i still need GPS for position hold for avoiding drift?

3. If I use Lidar or Sonar, do I need to send any specific command?

ps: I tried searching in documentation but couldn’t find anything related to no gps or Lidar based navigation.

Thank you

I didn’t quite get that. Do you mean how to set POS HOLD mode even though no GPS data is available?